Home

Welcome to Chicken and Frog Bookshop

www.vsphotography.co.uk

 Monday – Thursday 9.30-18.30

Friday-Saturday 9.30-17.30

7 Security House, Ongar Road, Brentwood, Essex CM15 9AT

01277 230068

(See our contact page for more details)

 What’s On lets you know all about our regular weekly sessions.

Events lets you know all about upcoming author/illustrator events.

 

Book Recommendations

andy-robb-geekhood-collection-2-books-set-mission-improbable-close-encounters-of-the-girl-kind-92225-pFourteen year old Archie is a Geek to his very core. A Level 5 Mage, capable of summoning the undead, Archie is a force to be reckoned with…just not in real life. Without a rule book by his side, Archie finds reality a little more challenging; especially when it comes to speaking to girls. That’s a whole new quest that he’s not so confident in winning.

You can meet Andy Robb at the Brentwood Children’s Literary Festival!

17167051

Fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will love this exciting series, packed with hilarious doodles and quirky comic strips by the incredibly talented author, Dave Cousins.

Told in Charlie’s own words and doodles and crammed with facts and statistics, this series offers a fantastic package. It’s fast-paced, exciting, and accessible – boys, girls and reluctant readers will all love this series!

You can meet Dave Cousins at the Brentwood Children’s Literary Festival.

Nikki_Sheehan_WaterstonesJohnny, whose father has died, moves to London to find that his new flat isn’t anything like what his mum said it would be. At school nobody likes Johnny; to them he’s just the ‘new boy.’ One day on a school trip to Regent’s Park, the school bully puts a swan’s poo in Johnny’s sandwich. Just as the bully starts laughing at him, a swan comes out of the lake, looks at Johnny like he’s its master and then attacks the bully.

The next day at school people start to call Johnny “Swan Boy” because of what had happened the day before. The ‘populars’ choose Johnny as their target and he ends up in trouble; he has to choose between litter-picking duty and doing a male version of ‘Swan Lake’…

You can meet Nikki Sheehan at the Brentwood Children’s Literary Festival.

Julie-IrwinEdwin is the odd one out in his family. While his sisters and brother are high achievers, he struggles at school and is happiest playing football with his mate Nat. Then the general boredom and misery of school is interrupted by a series of bizarre events Edwin starts to hear strange voices, and his science teacher of all people tells him that King Janus of Hysteria needs his help. As Edwin doubts his sanity, a whirling vortex appears in his bathroom! Before he knows it, he’s been swept into a parallel world a world where they really need his help. If only Perpetua Allbright the school swot wasn’t there with him… A brilliantly funny fantasy adventure.

You can meet Julie Irwin at the Brentwood Children’s Literary Festival.

JP Logo

Brentwood-Chamber-of-Commerce-logo-600px1fsb